The 15th IDCMR Congress, hosted by Faculty of Dentistry, Universitas Indonesia


On August 20, 2021, the faculty executives, lecturers, students and staff of Mahidol University Faculty of Dentistry (as IDCMR Secretariat Office) actively participated in the annual “15th International Dental Collaboration of the Mekong River Region (IDCMR) Congress” under the theme “Dental Research in COVID-19 Pandemic: Challenges and Opportunities for Improving Oral Health Management”, organized by Faculty of Dentistry, Universitas Indonesia, Indonesia during August 20-21, 2021 through an online platform.


This year’s congress was held as an all-virtual event for the first time ever in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, and on this occasion, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Sirichai Kiattavorncharoen, Dean, along with Prof. Dr. M.F Lindawati S. Kusdhany, Dean, Faculty of Dentistry, Universitas Indonesia were invited to give opening remarks to all the participants during the opening ceremony.


In this regard, Emeritus Clin. Prof. Passiri Nisalak and Prof. Dr. Waranun Buajeeb, Dean’s Advisors were invited as Chairpersons of the Keynote Speaker session. Dr. Dechsak Nakhapaksirat, lecturer, Department of Oral Medicine and Periodontology, also took part as one of the main speakers and delivered his lecture with the title “Improving students’ clinical decision-making skills: From cognitive theory to clinical practice”.


In addition, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Chuchai Anunmana, Deputy Dean for Quality Development, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Jeeraphat Jantarat, Head, Department of Operative Dentistry and Endodontics, and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Somsak Mitrirattanakul, Head, Department of Masticatory Science were invited as Competition Judges for the Oral and Poster Presentation and Case Report Presentation.


Activities of this two-day scientific event included Keynote and Main Speakers session, Oral and Poster Presentation and Case Report Presentation, Deans Meeting and Cultural Night. The event attracted over 300 participants from IDCMR member institutions from Cambodia, China PR, India, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam.