A Brief History

Faculty of Dentistry, Mahidol University was named as “Faculty of Dentistry Phaya Thai” On June 7, 1968, His Majesty the King enacted the royal legislative command establishing the “Faculty of Dentistry Phaya Thai” part of the University of Medical Sciences , to fulfill HM the King’s desire to increase the number of Thai dentists to meet the country’s demand . This new Faculty in the Clinical Research Building at 6 Yothi Street extended the educational services beyond the first Faculty of Dentistry located on Henri Dunant Street . March 2, 1969, HM the King graciously renamed the University of Medical Sciences as Mahidol University in honor of the King’s father, HRH Prince Songkla Nagarinda, acknowledging his great achievement of introducing modern medicine to the Thai nation. 1974, the Faculty of Dentistry Phayathai was shortened to Faculty of Dentistry. Soon after, it has been officially called the Faculty of Dentistry, Mahidol University. Since its founding, 9 people have officially served as Dean. Professor Emeritus Isara Yuktanandhe is the first dean and Associate Professor Dr. Sirichai Kiattavorncharoen is the current dean.

The Emblem of the Faculty

The symbolic flowering plant


Scientific name: Nymphaea capensis var zanzibarien-sis. It is found growing abundantly in freshwater habitats in tropical regions of Africa. It is also called “Royal Purple”.

Color of the Faculty


Name :: Violet
Code:: #6D2C90
RGB :: R109,G44,B144
CMYK :: C71-M100-Y0-K0


Denta Dentie

In 2009, Faculty of Dentistry, Mahidol University held a mascot naming and designing contest, and the winning design would be used as the Faculty’s official mascot for promoting and publicizing the Faculty’s news and activities.

The winner is Mr. Pirom Sukhajintanakarn who named his mascot “Denta” and “Dentie”, and it has been used as Faculty’s official mascot since March 2009.

Facts and Figures 2019-2020



Download Facts and Figures 2019-2020